The CovPass service: the ticket back to normality

Bild von zwei Smartphones mit geöffneter CovPass-App

More freedom via QR code.

null

Digital ecosystem consisting of two native apps and an accompanying web presence.

digitaler-impfnachweis-app.de

When a pandemic had our world firmly in its grip, a quick solution was needed to get life back to normal. That’s why IBM partnered with Ubirch to develop a digital service for proving vaccination, testing, and recovery status.

In record time, we created a secure service for all citizens, doctors’ offices, vaccination centres, and pharmacies that is closely aligned with the benefits and needs of each user. The result is an easy-to-use ecosystem consisting of two native apps and a web application: the CovPass app, the CovPassCheck app, and the vaccination certificate service.

CovPass and CovPassCheck: The vaccination passport for your pocket

With the CovPass app, personal health data, such as vaccinations and recoveries, can be stored as privately as possible on one’s own smartphone. The QR code enables users to show the data tamper-proof with a smartphone. The CovPassCheck app is used to check the QR code. It can confirm health status securely and quickly. For both apps, simply scan the code!

Impfpass Illustration

Just scan and be safe!

Just scan and be safe!

The CovPass app and CovPassCheck app are designed to work without additional hardware.
Both proof and verification of vaccination, recovery, and test certificates can be performed with just one click on commercially available smartphones. A digital signature reduces possible misuse. The result: With EU standards included from the ground up, travel in Europe was once again easy.

A digital ecosystem for Germany and the entire EU

The Vaccination Certificate Service provides a unified solution for a yet very heterogeneous landscape. Built on the existing IBM Health platform as well as Ubirch’s electronic health record and certificate signature infrastructure, the Immunization Certificate Service was up and running in just a few weeks. Together with the CovPass app and the CovPassCheck app, the vaccination certificate service forms a digital ecosystem.

Despite the high standards of security and great public attention, we have managed to provide a service that works throughout the EU in a short time. The first launch was only the starting signal for a continuous development that continues to this day.

Transparency as a leading principle

Inform

On the website digitaler-impfnachweis-app.de the complete system was explained in a way that everyone could understand. In addition, we created manuals and instructions for employees in medical practices, vaccination centres, and pharmacies.

Have your say

Frontline communication: Through hotlines, app stores, and GitHub, citizens can engage with us every day.

Shape

Anyone and everyone could give feedback and share ideas in this open-source project. These were directly incorporated into the development of new functions and improvements, which contributed significantly to the acceptance of the apps.

CovPass-Check App woman airport man
Taking the digitization of healthcare for granted – with the CovPass app, this has become the norm for many people.

Contact

Link copied Link copied?

What are you waiting for?
Let’s shape the
digital future together.

More projects

Link copied Link copied?

Discover more
Industry know-how

Der CovPass Service: Das Ticket zurück in die Normalität

Bild von zwei Smartphones mit geöffneter CovPass-App

Der digitale Impfnachweis verhilft User*innen per QR-Code zu mehr Freiheit.

null

Digitales Ökosystem bestehend aus zwei nativen Apps und einem begleitenden Webauftritt.

digitaler-impfnachweis-app.de

Als eine Pandemie unsere Welt fest im Griff hatte, brauchte es eine schnelle Lösung, um das Leben wieder zu normalisieren. Daher entwickelte IBM zusammen mit Ubirch einen digitalen Service für den Nachweis von Impf-, Test- und Genesenenstatus.

In Rekordzeit stellten wir einen sicheren Service für alle Bürger*innen, Arztpraxen, Impfzentren und Apotheken auf die Beine, der eng auf den Bedarf der jeweiligen Nutzer*innen abgestimmt ist. So entstand ein einfach zu bedienendes Ökosystem, bestehend aus zwei nativen Apps und einer Web-Anwendung: die CovPass-App, die CovPassCheck-App und der Impfzertifikatsservice.

CovPass und CovPassCheck: Der Impfpass für die Hosentasche

Mit der CovPass-App können persönliche Gesundheitsdaten, wie Impfungen und Genesungen, so privat wie möglich auf dem eigenen Smartphone gespeichert werden. Der QR-Code macht es möglich, die Daten fälschungssicher mit dem Smartphone vorzuzeigen. Zur Prüfung des QR-Codes kommt die CovPassCheck-App zum Einsatz. Mit ihr lässt sich der Gesundheitsstatus sicher und schnell überprüfen. Für beide Apps gilt: einfach scannen!

Impfpass Illustration

Ob Impfung, Genesung oder Test – einfach den QR-Code scannen und sicher checken lassen!

Einfach scannen und sicher sein

Die CovPass-App und CovPassCheck-App sind so konzipiert, dass sie ohne zusätzliche Hardware funktionieren.
Sowohl der Nachweis als auch die Prüfung von Impf-, Genesenen- und Testzertifikaten können mit nur einem Klick auf handelsüblichen Smartphones durchgeführt werden. Eine digitale Signatur verringert möglichen Missbrauch. Die Folge: Mit dem bereits vom Start an enthaltenen EU-Standard waren Reisen in Europa wieder leichter möglich.

Ein digitales Ökosystem für Deutschland und die gesamte EU

Der Impfzertifikatsservice bietet eine einheitliche Lösung für eine doch sehr heterogene Landschaft. Aufbauend auf der bestehenden IBM-Health-Plattform sowie der Infrastruktur für elektronische Patientenakten und der Zertifikats-Signatur von Ubirch, war der Impfzertifikatsservice innerhalb von nur wenigen Wochen einsatzbereit. Gemeinsam mit den beiden CovPass-App und CovPassCheck-App bildet der Impfzertifikatsservice ein digitales Ökosystem.

Trotz der hohen Standards an Sicherheit und der großen öffentlichen Aufmerksamkeit haben wir es geschafft, einen Service in kürzester Zeit zur Verfügung zu stellen, der in der ganzen EU funktioniert. Dabei war der erste Launch nur der Startschuss für eine kontinuierliche Entwicklung, die bis heute andauert.

Transparenz als führendes Prinzip

Informieren

Auf der Website digitaler-impfnachweis-app.de wurde das komplette System für alle verständlich erklärt. Darüber hinaus erstellten wir Handbücher und Anleitungen für Mitarbeitende in Arztpraxen, Impfzentren und Apotheken.

Mitreden

Kommunikation an vorderster Front: Durch Hotlines, Appstores und GitHub können Bürger*innen täglich mit uns in den Dialog treten.

Mitgestalten

Jede und jeder konnte in diesem Open-Source-Projekt Feedback geben und Ideen teilen. Diese flossen direkt in die Entwicklung von neuen Funktionen und Verbesserungen ein, was erheblich zur Akzeptanz der Apps beitrug.

Die Digitalisierung des Gesundheitswesens als selbstverständlich anzunehmen – mit der CovPass-App ist das für viele Menschen zur Normalität geworden.

Kontakt

Link kopiert Link kopiert?

Worauf wartest du?
Lass und gemeinsam die
digitale Zukunft gestalten

Mehr Projekte

Link kopiert Link kopiert?

Entdecke weiteres
Branchen-Know-How